THINKAPOLOGETICS.COM

Recently a Bara study was released called Many pastors wary of raising ‘controversy’. The article discussed some of the reasons why pastors are wary of controversial topics. While most of the article discussed the issue of politics, I will add my thoughts here. The reality is that as we look to the future, I think pastors and ministry leaders should be willing to preach, teach, and discuss some of these topics:

1.Homosexuality/The Same Sex Marriage Debate: Obviously, given the constant attention on this topic, pastors and ministry leaders do themselves no favors by avoiding it. The real issue is whether they are exhorting  their congregation to be salt and light in the culture. If they are, their people should be reaching out and engaging the top issues out there. Last year, since I teach apologetics at our congregation, I along with our leadership decided to bring Michael Brown to our…

View original post 733 more words